Jane Caro2019 Guest Speaker: Jane Caro  Video Audio
Jane Caro AM is a Walkley Award winning Australian columnist, author, novelist,
broadcaster, advertising writer, documentary maker, feminist and social commentator.

Jane has published twelve books, including three novels “Just a Girl” “Just a Queen”
and “Just Flesh & Blood”, a trilogy on Elizabeth Tudor, and a memoir “Plain
Speaking Jane”. She created and edited ‘Unbreakable’ which featured stories women
writers had never told before and was published just before the Harvey Weinstein
revelations. “Accidental Feminists” her book on the life story of women over 50,
published by MUP was launched in February 2019.

Jane appears frequently on Q&A, The Drum, Sunrise and Weekend Sunrise. She has
created and presented 4 documentary series for ABC Compass, airing in 2015, 2016,
2017 and 2018. She and Catherine Fox present a popular podcast with Podcast One,
Austereo ‘Women With Clout’. She has regular columns in ‘Sunday Life’ and ‘Leadership Matters’.


Host: Senator the Hon Penny Wong
Leader of the Opposition of the Senate

MC: Sonya Feldoff
ABC Radio Adelaide




Former Speakers

2018 Tanya Hosch General Manager of Inclusion and Social Policy, AFL Video and Audio recording
2017 Hon Julia Gillard AC Australia’s first female Prime Minister Video and Audio recording
2016 Fran Kelly Journalist Audio recording
2015 Dr Susan Carland Academic and social commentator
2014 Dr Gill Hicks MBE Founder of M.A.D for Peace
2013 Dr Anne Summers AO Author and journalist
2012 Alice Pung Author, lawyer and teacher
2011 Professor Tanya Monro SA’s Australian of the Year for 2011
2010 Sally Sara AM ABC foreign correspondent
2009 Evonne Goolagong Cawley AO MBE Australian tennis star
2008 Margaret Pomeranz AM Host of “The Movie Show”
2007 Larissa Behrendt Professor of Law and Indigenous Studies
2006 Ms Kirsty Sword-Gusmao AO First Lady of East Timor
2005 Hon Mary Gaudron QC Former Justice of the High Court of Australia
2004 Her Excellency Marjorie Jackson-Nelson AO, CVO, MBE Governor of South Australia
2003 Carmel Travers ABC TV documentary maker
2002 Christine Nixon APM Commissioner of Police, Victoria
2001 Hon Dr Jocelyn Scutt Barrister and author
2000 Camilla Cowley Reconciliation campaigner and pastoralist
1999 Sister Patricia Pak-Poy RSM Activist against land mines
1998 Robyn Archer AO, CdOAL Adelaide singer and songwriter
1997 Phoebe Fraser Aid worker with Care Australia
1996 Hazel Hawke AO Prominent Australian
1995 Mem Fox AM Children’s author
1994 Dorinda Haffner Chef and media personality
1993 Julia Lester ABC radio presenter